Life Tips

Tasting Time

 

Time is precious.

Time is running out.

This isn’t the right time.

I wish I had more time.

There is no time.

I am out of time.

The founder of 37 signals, David Greiner says that he believes that if he allowed himself there would be more than enough work to keep him going 24 hours a day.

Do you feel as if there aren’t enough hours in the day?  I know I do.  I continually have a nagging feeling that I should be accomplishing more, particularly on weekends.  I think this definition of the word “day” sums it up:

Day, n. A period of twenty-four hours, mostly misspent.

It’s a sense of concern about using my time well.  This really annoys people that want me to sit down and watch a TV programme or movie.  I’m always fidgeting to do something/anything at the same time.

funeral-flowers

 

 

 

 

 

 

A truly moving article is  “Nurse reveals top 5 regrets people make on their deathbed”.    When patients were questioned about any regrets they had or anything they would do differently, common themes surfaced again and again. Here are the most common five:

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.
3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

As death approaches, regrets centred around the way time was spent.  None of these points has anything to do with working longer hours.

I think that all of us understand that time is finite.  We know that every moment that ticks by brings us closer to oblivion.  That’s scary. 

We can choose to do something  to make life more meaningful or try and drown it out with watching movie repeats or reality TV.

So, assuming that the time is ticking and we want to choose to take action AND there are infinite things we can do, what should we do now?   Some suggest it’s a matter of understanding your direction:

“What comes first, the compass or the clock? Before one can truly manage time (the clock), it is important to know where you are going, what your priorities and goals are, in which direction you are headed (the compass). Where you are headed is more important than how fast you are going. Rather than always focusing on what’s urgent, learn to focus on what is really important.”

So to make a good choice in spending time requires making goals. 

So what are goals?

Goals are simply tools to focus your energy in positive directions, these can be changed as your priorities change, new one added, and others dropped.

Goals are more scary to most than wasting time, as any good procrastinator will tell you.  Although some say there’s no such thing as a procrastinator either.  The person described as a procrastinator has already set a goal and achieved it.  (The goal of not achieving anything)

So it comes down to a choice.  We will make the right choice about time if we make the right choice about goals, which is, of course, to have some.

2 thoughts on “Tasting Time

  1. Pingback: How games can extend your life « An Inspirational Idea

Leave a Reply

